IT WAS ONLY A LIST

This is a festive gift from me to you, dear readers, to be sung to the tune (or at least read to the rhythm) of “Mr Brightside” by The Killers – credit to my friend Imogen for sparking this splendid idea. Share away if you like!

 

*

Christmas lights are ablaze
It smells of chestnuts and pine
Gotta gotta get out
Deliver gifts to all
I’d started making a list
How did it end up like this?
It was only a list
IT WAS ONLY A LIST

Now I’ve schedules to keep
But the weather looks bad
Chimneys filling with smoke
Sack’s becoming a drag
Now I’m boarding the sled
And my reindeer are sick
Got a full night ahead
But I’m needing a

Rest now
Beard down to my chest now
Starting to snow

And I just can’t look
It seems to me
A freezing hellhole

Skimming trees
Whiteout, I can barely see
Sleet and hailstones in my eyes
Can’t eat any more mince pies
But it’s just the price I pay
Christmas Eve is calling me
Boy, I hope my sleigh still flies…
CUZ I’M MISTER YULETIDE!

(solo)

[repeat lyrics above]

(Ode to Joy-esque solo)

December
December
DECEMBER
DECEMBEEEEERRR…

*

 

Season’s Greetings, y’all.

 

~Adam

Leave a Reply

